HACCP Principles

HACCP Programs: Seven Principles, Twelve Steps

GFSI HACCP program requirements are all based on Codex Alimentarius International Food Standards (Codex) and the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF). According to GFSI Guidance “In all cases, the 7 Codex Alimentarius HACCP principles and the 12 step logic sequence for application of HACCP specified in the document, Recommended International Code of Practice – General Principles of Food Hygiene CAC/ RCP 1-1969, Rev. 4 -2003, shall apply.

    • The standards require that you apply the 7 principles following the 12 steps:

Seven (7) Principles:
1) Conduct a Hazard Analysis
2) Determine Critical Control Points (CCPs)
3) Establish critical limits
4) Establish a system to monitor control of CCP
5) Establish the corrective action to be taken when monitoring indicates that a particular CCP is not under control
6) Establish procedures for verification to confirm that the HACCP system is working effectively
7) Establish documentation concerning all procedures and records appropriate to these principles and procedures and their application

Twelve (12) Steps:
1)  Assemble a HACCP team
2)  Describe product
3)  Identify intended use
4)  Construct flow diagram
5)  On-Site confirmation of flow diagram
6)  List all potential hazards associated with each step; conduct a Hazard Analysis and consider any measures to control identified hazards (Principle 1 – P1)
7)  Determine CCPs (P2)
8)  Establish critical limits for each CCP (P3)
9)  Establish a monitoring system for each CCP (P4)
10) Establish corrective actions (P5)
11) Establish verification procedures (P6)
12) Establish documentation and record keeping (P7)

If you need assistance in developing and would like your HACCP program reviewed, please contact us